

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FOR INFORMATION, CONTACT: KRISTIN RUDMAN, (202) 508-5155

U.S. Representatives Doug LaMalfa and Kurt Schrader Receive the 2019 John D. Dingell Award

Washington, D.C. (March 11, 2019) – During a reception tonight, U.S. Representative Debbie Dingell (D-MI) will present the 2019 John D. Dingell Award to U.S. Representatives Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) and Kurt Schrader (D-OR). This distinguished award recognizes leaders who exemplify and promote labor-management cooperation.

The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) came together 12 years ago to create the National Labor Management Public Affairs Committee (National LAMPAC). National LAMPAC fosters collaboration and partnership among electric company executives and IBEW leaders to address the nation's energy challenges. Through National LAMPAC, labor leaders and management join together to achieve the common goals of running a well-managed, efficient business with a highly skilled workforce.

U.S. Representatives LaMalfa and Schrader exemplified the spirit of the John D. Dingell Award through their collaboration and leadership on the Electricity Reliability and Forest Protection Act in the 115th Congress. Thanks to their combined efforts and close coordination, the bipartisan legislation was signed into law, and it improves the safety and reliability of the energy grid on federal lands. Under the law, electric companies now are able to remove hazardous trees before they become problems, which will help to reduce the threat of catastrophic wildfires and lessen the risk of widespread power outages.

"The energy grid is vital to the life, health, and safety of all Americans, and it is critical to the economic and national security of the nation," said EEI President Tom Kuhn. "Representatives Doug LaMalfa and Kurt Schrader demonstrated tremendous leadership in working together to find solutions that help protect the energy grid and improve grid security, reliability, and resiliency for our customers. Congressman Dingell worked tirelessly to develop consensus on both sides of the aisle and to enact policies to benefit all Americans. It is very fitting that they are this year's recipients of this distinguished award."

"When it comes to maintaining our energy security, partisanship should never come in the way," said IBEW International President Lonnie Stephenson. "Representatives LaMalfa and Schrader have shown–just like Congressman Dingell did throughout his career–that lawmakers can cross the aisle and work together to come up with common sense solutions to the challenges faced by this nation. My congratulations to them on their well-deserved award."

Named for the longest-serving member of Congress, the John D. Dingell Award is presented to leaders whose efforts have helped to advance the common objectives of the electric power industry and IBEW members. Former Representative John Dingell (D-MI) passed away in February.

###

EEI is the association that represents all U.S. investor-owned electric companies. Our members provide electricity for 220 million Americans, and operate in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. As a whole, the electric power industry supports more than 7 million jobs in communities across the United States. In addition to our U.S. members, EEI has more than 65 international electric companies as International Members, and hundreds of industry suppliers and related organizations as Associate Members.

The IBEW represents approximately 750,000 active members and retirees who work in a wide variety of fields, including utilities, construction, telecommunications, broadcasting, manufacturing, railroads and government. The IBEW has members in both the United States and Canada and stands out among the American unions in the AFL-CIO because it is among the largest and has members in so many skilled occupations.